You are currently viewing How your congressional delegates voted
The United States Capitol Building, the seat of Congress, on the National Mall in Washington, D.C.

How your congressional delegates voted

  • Post published:February 1, 2021
  • Post category:News

For the week ending on January 29th. 

ALLOWING TRUMP IMPEACHMENT TRIAL: Voting 55 for and 45 against, the Senate on Jan. 26 set aside an objection by Rand Paul, R-Ky., to the constitutionality of the upcoming impeachment trial of former President Donald Trump. Paul said the Constitution provides for impeachment of sitting officials but not former officeholders. Democrats pointed to the precedent of Secretary of War William Belknap’s impeachment and conviction in 1876 despite his last-minute resignation in an effort to avoid those penalties. They also noted constitutional language allowing impeached and convicted officials to be disqualified from holding future office. Five Republicans joined all Democrats and independents in voting to table Paul’s point of order. The Republicans were: Susan Collins of Maine, Lisa Murkowski of Alaska, Mitt Romney of Utah, Ben Sasse of Nebraska and Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania.

A yes vote was to table a point of order so that the impeachment trial can begin.

YES: Ben Ray Luján, D, Martin Heinrich, D

CONFIRMING JANET YELLEN, SECRETARY OF THE TREASURY: Voting 84 for and 15 against, the Senate on Jan. 25 confirmed Janet L. Yellen, 74, as the 78th secretary of the Treasury and first woman to lead the department in its 232-year history. She served on the Federal Reserve Board of Governors between 1994- 1997 and 2010-2018, and from 2014 to 2018 she was the first woman to chair the Fed. During her confirmation hearing, Yellen expressed support for expanded economic stimulus as a response to COVID-19 as well as a $15-per-hour minimum wage, environmental regulation and raising taxes on those making more than $400,000 per year.

A yes vote was to confirm Yellen.

YES: Luján, Heinrich

CONFIRMING ANTONY BLINKEN, SECRETARY OF STATE: Voting 78 for and 22 against, the Senate on Jan. 26 confirmed Antony J. Blinken, 58, as the nation’s 71st secretary of state. Blinken has served in senior foreign policy positions for 27 years, including as national security advisor to then-Vice President Joe Biden and deputy secretary of state under former President Barack Obama.

A yes vote was to confirm Blinken.

YES: Luján, Heinrich

ENDING FILIBUSTER AGAINST MAYORKAS: Voting 55 for and 42 against, the Senate on Jan. 28 defeated a Republican filibuster against the nomination of Alejandro Mayorkas as secretary of homeland security, clearing the way for a Feb. 1 confirmation vote. Josh Hawley, R-Mo., had blocked the nomination for eight days with arguments that Mayorkas is soft on securing the southern border.

A yes vote was to advance the nomination.

YES: Luján, Heinrich

HOUSE: Deb Haaland (D) Ben Ray Luján (D) Yvette Herrell (R)

SENATE: Martin Heinrich (D) Tom Udall (D)

Contact your legislators at the U.S. Capitol
Zip codes: House 20515, Senate 20510
Capitol operator: (202) 224-3121