Save Our Children’s Future

Why Do People Trying to Raid the Permanent Fund Hate our Children? Billions of dollars have been spent over the past years under the heading of ‘Head Start’ and other early childhood education titles. Yet our children’s educational success ranks at the bottom of the nation.

At a recent New Mexico Business Coalition (NMBC) event in Albuquerque, Mark Meckler, President of Citizens for Self Governance, talked about New Mexico’s Permanent Fund asking “…what happened to all the money that has been wasted and all the lives that have been destroyed….” by those now wanting to raid the permanent fund?

Mafia Tactics by Partisan Leaders: Some elected officials and Sam Bregman, the Chairman of the Democratic Party, have declared raiding New Mexico’s Permanent Fund their top priority for the 30-day legislative session. Many are using tactics like pushing for a constitutional amendment, which the Governor cannot veto, and THREATENING any legislator who gets in the way.

Senator John Arthur Smith responded to the threats from Sam Bregman: “…he doesn’t believe there’s any place for an individual that is trying to be financially responsible.”

DON’T TOUCH THE PERMANENT FUND: The 5.75 percent annually withdrawn from our permanent fund already exceeds a maximum 5 percent cap that prudent states and economists recommend for preservation of the fund. New Mexico absolutely cannot allow raising the level of distributions, if we want to provide for our children’s future educational needs. If left alone, the fund will continue to grow and distributions will increase by more than the amounts currently sought by progressives, who obviously do not care about our children’s future.

CALL TO ACTION: We urge New Mexicans to take a stand against harming our children’s future! Please call or email all legislators, especially those serving in leadership of both chambers and tell them “DON’T TOUCH THE PERMANENT FUND.”

Mary Kay Papen, Pro Tempore
Michael S. Sanchez, Majority Floor Leader
Stuart Ingle, Minority Floor Leader
Timothy M. Keller, Majority Whip
William H. Payne, Minority Whip

HOUSE LEADERSHIP CONTACT INFO HERE: W. Ken Martinez, Speaker of the House
Rick Miera, Majority Floor Leader
Donald E. Bratton, Minority Floor Leader
Antonio “Moe” Maestas, Majority Whip
Nate Gentry, Minority Whip

Join the NMBC NOW — We Have A Membership Category For Everyone.